rudimentary wriggle work -- soldier's art

WCM

Hello all,

I am completely new to the art of engraving, so I hope you will bear with me.

I am also a military historical reenactor and graphic designer/illustrator and am trying to duplicate the engraving artwork that soldiers often produced with rudimentary engraving tools on their aluminum mess kits and aluminum canteens and so forth. It's an activity I'd like to show to the public at many of our events. One can find many decorated items made by soldiers of different countries from both World War One and World War Two. It appears to mostly be the wriggle work style of engraving. Both zigzag style and the zipper style of wriggle work. And I have seen straight line engraving as well on these items.

Here is an example of one of the wriggle work styles I am trying desperately to duplicate. I believe this is wriggle work in a zipper style, but please correct me if I am wrong. I have no experience.

http://www.aboutww2militaria.com/June2006/rus_cigcase.html

So far, I have not been this successful. I find this zipper style very difficult to produce.
Since a soldier in the field had limited access to precision instruments and such, he had to use his ingenuity to make his tools and so forth. This is where I also really need your expertise assistance and guidance.

What type of materials do you suggest I scrounge and employ to make a decent graver for this type of wriggle work? What would be the proper way to assemble an expedient engraving tool from scavenged bits and pieces? A soldier would not ordinarily have access to a grinder and vise and such. A pocket knife, file and sandpaper maybe would not be a problem though. He can store those in his pack or haversack.