sharpening stone

pierre

Elite Cafe Member
hi every body,
just a question, what kind of stone sharpening do you use?
i use a rectangular lapstone since 1995 ( the best product that i found in europe) but before i used natural stone ( norton, arkansas,...) with oil.
I buy my lapstone in sweden it's a dianova, they product lapstone for knives sharpening.
I send to you a picture of my last work but i will have best next month ( the gun will be hardening and complete)
have a nice day pierre P1040525.jpg

P1040528.jpg

P1040556.jpg

P1040557.jpg

JCP

I am a beginner , so consider that with my advise.

I use a Ceramic Whet Stone (fine grit) made by spyderco , Inc.

I purchased it from McMaster Carr.

Cost is about $50.00 US.

They are really tough and they say one will last a butcher a lifetime without any measurable wear.

I think the fine is between 1200 and 1600 grit.

Beautiful work , thanks for posting.

Jack Phillips

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Pierre,

Not being as skilled or as talented as you I use the GRS PowerHone - I need the 'edge' a precisely sharpened point gives me.

Before I got the PowerHone I was using a simple Smith's tri-hone and the GRS fixture. From what I've seen / heard, the Lindsay fixture is better for 'hand' sharpening. I've also seen pictures of a really neat looking fixture made for use with a bench stone.

From my knife sharpening I'm pretty good at freehand sharpening but love my 'assisted angle' systems - my ever-indulgent wife got me the absolute best of those, the EdgePro (she even went for the Pro version that Mr. Dale makes to order :))

There are several makers of 'diamond' hones that are great for knives but I'm not certain how well most of them would work for the tiny and precise surfaces of gravers.

Do you sharpen your gravers freehand or with a fixture of some sort? The exquisitely clean lines you get prove that you're doing a good job of it however you're doing it.

pierre

Elite Cafe Member