Help, please: Tool Comparisons

Wildwire

I am new to this forum. I have been doing wood carving for many years with a high speed rotary that died recently. I had even done some "engraving" with the rotary on a couple of my own guns. The results were comparable to laser etching - looked good but not true engraving. I really love the three-dimensionality of the work I see on this site!
I am looking at the GRS Mach AT with palm/foot control since it also has the capacity for the rotary tool and the price in contrast to the Lindsay. I would like to know if anyone has used the Mach AT and their thoughts. I also want the tool capacity to engrave parts on my bike.
I appreciate any insight offered, as I need to make good choices due to the investment required. Thanks

Andrew Biggs

Hi Wildfire

Yes, the GraverMach AT is a very versatile and hi-tech piece of kit but at the same time a real work horse. I personally like the way it can switch from the airtact/palm control to foot control because it offers the best of both worlds at the turn of a knob. Or if you wish you can use one or the other exclusively. It just depends on your own personal preferences. It can be as sensitive as you want it to be and it also has the guts to really power into the work.

You also have the choice of several handpieces depending on what you want to do. All of the handpieces are very powerful and are capable of engraving the finest work through to the most demanding. Some engravers stick to just one handpiece and use that for everything, or they can choose between the range (Monarch, 901, Magnum)......depending on the work they want to do. The Magnum will cut through just about anything you can throw at it and is incredibly powerful. And yes, you can run an air powered rotary tool through it, or rig it up independently depending on your specific needs.

Cheers
Andrew

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~