Tools for newbie

ron.g

Is there a site that could give me advise on which tools to start with?
I am new at this and just want a few tools to start with (hand tools not machine).
I have seen the sites that sell them, but do I get a square, flat, round etc?
Also where can I get practice plates?

Dave London

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hi Ron
Welcome to the wonderfull world of engraving, For basic hand tools I would try Ngraver he has a good selection. Site should show up on google. I would start with a square graver, For practice plates local steel yard shim stock or home depot/hardware store

Last edited:

ihsfab

Elite Cafe Member
Ron here is Ngravers site http://www.ngraver.com/cutters.htm you need to keep it, the home page is under constuction.
If you are just wanting to try it out and not spend a lot I would think that a couple of square's and some handles w/a flat on them will do. As far as practice plate's GRS, Cronite, Ngraver are some of the place's that will sell you quailty plate's.
Then as you keep going you will need some way to sharpen your graver's whether it be by hand on a stone or using a power hone.
You will need a engraving ball of some sort.
Good luck on trying this out.:)
http://www.grstools.com/index.html
http://www.cronite.com/default.htm

Last edited:

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
best tool for a newbie: the meeks book. james b. meek. will show all the different things you need to learn. this will include choosing and making tools. i'd say the 1st. serious purchase, above all others would be a powerhone and graver holder, followed later by a ball vise.

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
Hi ron.g
Take a look at the post "Beginning Help" by Redletter1 on this forum.
There is more information there.
Hope this helps to give you a start.
Best of luck. John B.

KSnyder

Elite Cafe Member