What is the best way to temper a graver?

GeorgeKhayata

Hi Sam,
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to join the cafe, it is great to share other engravers the skill and the experience, I have been doing hand engraving for over 27 years, we don't have school back home to teach engraving, I learned by my self, thank God who gave the gift to do it.
My question is about what is the best way to temper a graver, I do engraving on jewelry, but I am trying to engrave my hand gun but I'm having trouble with my graver.
Your edvice is highly appreciated, thanks again.
George

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hello George, and welcome to the Cafe. I never temper my gravers, so I'm not in a position to answer your question. I use out-of-the-box gravers for the majority of my work, and carbide square blanks which I shape into flats and 120's. I don't think modern gravers require tempering like some of the old ones. Maybe someone else can shed some light on this.

E.C. Prudhomme would fashion tools from drill rod, heat them to yellow, and quench them in a small can of solid beeswax. He would let the tool remain in the beeswax until it reached room temperature. He claimed this was a one-shot operation that hardened the tool and drew it back without the need for reheating to straw color, etc. I've done this with many punches, but not with gravers, and I give you information for whatever it's worth. / ~Sam

Yves Halliburton

Elite Cafe Member
George, ???. What type of firearm. Is it hard stainless. Is it case hardened. These types of metals and finishes will make it very difficult to engrave.

Mike Cirelli

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
If your using water cooled drill rod you can shape your tool coat with soap heat to cherry red. Quench straight in and back out quick, hold in air for a second and resubmerge back to the water. That will harden and temper in one shot. It's not the best way as it takes some practice to get a feel for it, but it's quick.