Question: Advice on letting A business use my design

Harpuahound

Elite Cafe Member
I got a request today. From a lady commisioned to create a logo for a national coffee shop chain. She says she likes one of my Hobo Nickels in particular. Wants to know If I would be intrested. No money was offered and I do not want to give up any rights to my images really. On the otherhand, the thought of having my art used in such a way that it becomes visible to a much larger group of people is exciting.

I have no experience with anything like this. Advice, suggestions, warnings are all welcomed.

Thanks,
Johnny

rayf24

Elite Cafe Member
If they have a chain of coffee shops they can afford you talent at the moment they want you you haven't gone looking for them so dont sell yourself short and only give up your image rights if the price is right as it stands you are in the driving seat and should they go elsewhere they may have to pay more or get a cheaper job.

ray

tim halloran

Elite Cafe Member
Johnnny: I would say " Show Me The Money". You don't know what they are going do with your artwork, so talk to an attorney about a licensing agreement. These people are phishing trying to get something for nothing. Talk to Sam about it.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Johnny: If it's for a logo you will most certainly have to give them complete ownership of the image. No company is going to use something they don't own for their brand/logo.

It's for this reason that iStock images are prohibited for use in or as part of company logos.

Ray Cover

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Don't sell it cheap either. When it is used in that way the artist gets absolutely no recognition or advertisement from it. Nothing. The only value you get out of it is what they pay you up front for its use. Once the money exchanges no one is even going to remember your name as the one who did the artwork.

SO don't let it go cheap.

Ray

Andrew Biggs