Building a Shop: Advice Wanted

Harpuahound

Elite Cafe Member
I've moved to southern Georgia, about a year ago. My family and I have been in an apartment since. House hunting. I intend to build a shop when we find the right place. Im looking for all sorts of ideas or warnings. Someone tried to sell me on the idea of a metal shed. the kind everybody is using as carports these days. Except you can finish them out, doors, windows, insallation. Im bit worried about what kind of structure Im going to be storing all this equipment in. My shop will be seperate from the house, so doubtfully climate controlled at all times. Will that be a problem? What probblems should I look out for? If your shop has any nifty innovations, Im very interested.

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::
Hi Johnny.
I'm no expert on this, but...............
I had a student that built a seperate structure for his shop.
It and all his equipment were lost in a terrible storm.
As the shop was not attached to the house his homeowners insurance did not cover his loss.
Just a thought, cover with seperate insurance or a rider against loss.
John B.

Use A Metal Shipping Container. I Am Using Two Of Them For Storage. I Will Be Retiring I A Couple Of Years And I Have Been Storing All My Extra Tools And Household Goods In Them. No Insects, No Mice And Very Secure. The Two I Have Are 8'x8'x40'

jimzim75

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Johnny,
I live out in the country. If I were going to build a separate shop. First thing I would
lay a 6" deep or better slab of concrete. Next I would build a steel building not a shed.
Sheds use steel struts not wood. A wood frame is what I would want and then
use farm grade steel. Not the light duty stuff.

Did you ever see "The bridge Over the River Qui"? In Georgia it would be called a hot box,
so your probable going to want to insulate it from the heat. Big windows that can open
with screens, and maybe bars to keep the varmints at bay.