In Austin

tldcowboygear

Howdy Folks,

A new job assignment has diverted me from El Paso to Austin TX instead of San Antonio. I am in Austin now so if there are any engravers in the area that wouldn't mind me dropping by to visit sometime I would really appreciate the opportunity.

Also, since I don't have any of my engraving equipment with me (living in a 37' travel trailer in RV Park) I am taking the opportunity to practice drawing. I have been avoiding drawing as I have the opinion that I am not an artist. Having read most nearly all of the threads posted on this forum from page one I now believe that I can develop that artistic ability (thanks to you folks encouraging others).

When I get just a little more practice, I will post my progress. In the mean time, should I draw larger drawings or actual sizes that I will be engraving?

I really want to thank everyone that has posted updates and pictures from Reno. The pictures have sure given me some things to study in addition to the books that I have.

Enough rambling! Thanks for your time, talent, and giving nature!

D.C.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
goodness, your wires must have shorted out ! engravers are artists ! and you will learn how to draw. the community here commands you to practice drawing, or we all fear for your future.it's critical to practice drawing until it becomes a natural act. then you will simply do it because you will have to. musicians have to learn the scale to make music, we must learn to draw to create well balanced and attractive engraving.early on you may see it as a pain, later you will accept it as a prerequisite to good work. try drawing the more simplified scroll and design first. do the more complicated stuff later. i would first draw larger to see the proper shape evolve. when the shape gets good, then start going down in size. i'd do at least 1" wide scroll , maybe even a tad larger-- to see how well you're doing. then go to as small as you plan to engrave.