Lindsay Point

leschowe

Elite Cafe Member
I am still relatively new to engraving and have really been having a problem
tearing up the outside edge of my cuts in tight turns -- like the inside of a spiral.
I haven't had much success solving the problem until I recently tried the "Lindsay Point".
I sharpened a 120V point per Steve Lindsay's instructions on his web site, and was
really impressed with its performance. My torn up edge problem is almost completely
solved and the graver seemed to cut very smoothly.

I did notice that the tip may have a little more tendency to break although I
am not completely sure about this yet.

I was wondering what experiences other people might have had using this point, and,
since nothing is perfect, what some of the downsides of using it might be.

Les Schowe

joe seeley

The lindsay point does just as steve says it does and works very well, it has been in use for machine tools for many years ( the secondary clearence behind a cutting edge) Steve has taken the time and effort to figure out the exact angles required based on the face angle. If you change the face or the combined angle of your tool point then you must change the yaw angle of the tool. steves very simple sharpening fixture has taken all of the guess work out of sharpening for his point style.

yes his tool point style is the best for a graver that has to cut around a corner.

joe seeley
machinist, gunmaker, engraver

pilkguns

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
if you are tearing up your cut in a tight scroll, your heel is too long, pure and simple, whether you are using a traditional graver or the Lindsay point. Neither will work well when improperly sharpened.

Marcus Hunt

~ Elite 1000 Member ~