Critique Request My first Leaf Script attempt

leschowe

Elite Cafe Member
Hi everyone,
After Sam presented his "C" shading exercise a while ago I have become very interested in Leaf Script. This is my first attempt at creating my own Leaf Script design and I have used my signature "LeS" in script as an example. I have attached 4 photos. The first is the original script drawing, the second is the structural cut, the third is with shading added, and the last is the original drawing for cutting.
After reading Sam's crosshatching post above I can see that I have some work to do on my crosshatching. I would really appreciate any advise which will help improve my design and cutting.

Thanks,

Les Schowe

Attachments

• LeS.jpg
    LeS.jpg
    53.1 KB · Views: 111
  • LeS_ver1_y=Unshaded.jpg
    LeS_ver1_y=Unshaded.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 137
  • Les_ver1_Shaded.jpg
    Les_ver1_Shaded.jpg
    73.5 KB · Views: 173
  • Les_ver1C.jpg
    Les_ver1C.jpg
    69.4 KB · Views: 155
Last edited:

Arnaud Van Tilburgh

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Les, sure it looks good, But.... as you already said yourself about the crosshatching, it would have been better in my opinion whitout it.
Your crosshatching did not add something to the shading, sure you know you made some mistakes doing the crosshatching, and that is why we are here to learn.

And as far is I can judge your design, it looks good, But... the S looks more balanced than the L.
On the L in my opinion there is more mass on top and middle and the base of the letter L is a bit weak.

Just my opinion of course, others can explain it probably better

arnaud

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
the design i think is sound. maybe your lines went too far over the edge in a few spots, but that's not worth getting a jail sentence over !

FANCYGUN

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Les