need help with camera!!!

griff silver

Elite Cafe Member
Is there any advice out there for trying to video tape bright cut engraving? polorizing lens etc.. please help thanks. If you follow the link to my sight I have put up a crappy try, I would gratly appreciate any advice on what equipment to buy.

jlseymour

Elite Cafe Member
Griff,
I'm no expert but, I have used the studio lighting on tripods with soft lights when we did some video for the local cable channel at Xmas a few years ago...
I don't remember the wattage, but when I find them from where Joan hid them over Thankgiving because of house guest I'll let you know...
Sam's is our Resident Photo Expert...
Not a bad video, just some dark spots...
What are you using for lighting???
Thanks for sharing I would love to see more...
Jerry

Last edited:

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Griff: The two main issues with your video are lighting and lack of closeup detail. When doing this type of video, lighting can be a real pain. I have all sorts of clamp-on lights, light banks, etc, and it's tough getting it just right. There's no easy solution that I know of, and I have so much stuff around my bench when shooting video that I have to squeeze through to get to my vise. Trial and error is the key. Just remember that the object looks best when reflecting a white surface overhead (same as still photography).