Help, please: New GRS setup

Beathard

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
::::Pledge Member::::
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
1,480
Location
Paige, TX
Thread starter #1
I have a silent sir compressor, graver Mach, with a foot pedal and 901 handpiece. Everything is working great accept the compressor cannot keep up. After about 5 minutes the handpiece stops working until pressure builds up again. Everything is new and just out of the box. Can anyone suggest a fix?
 

Cloudy

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
::::Pledge Member::::
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,047
Location
Chatham Center, NY
#2
Did you take the red cap off the compressor? That's to protect things in shipping (Don't ask how I know that can cause that problem...):rolleyes:
 

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
::::Pledge Member::::
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
2,889
Location
Kansas City, MO
#3
And if Cloudy's suggestion doesn't fix it, try adding an auxilary air tank to your system for more capacity. I don't think it's what you need, but you can get a 10-gallon air tank at the automotive / hardware store fairly cheaply. Then just add a 'T' fitting to the outlet from it and hook it into the line from your compressor to your machine. It'll take a bit to fill it the first time (or when you occasionally drain it) but under normal operations your compressor will run less often.
 

Beathard

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
::::Pledge Member::::
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
1,480
Location
Paige, TX
Thread starter #5
Thanks Cloudy

Duh! Thank you guys. Cloudy's solution fixed the problem. I will remember the extra tank solution just in case I start running the compressor to much. I am now excited again. Off to graving! :chip:
 
Last edited:

sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 6, 2006
Messages
9,837
Location
Covington, Louisiana
#7
I run two Gravermach ATs on one Sil-Air compressor. I seriously doubt you'll need an auxiliary tank. But I'm glad you got it working.
 

Joe Mason

Elite Cafe Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
430
Location
Brandon, Mississippi
#8
I am glad you found out the problem. Just running a mach should not be a problem to the silent air at all. If you start using the high speed rotary it will have a hard time keeping up and you will need to stop so it can catch up. My son had a silent compressor that he was not using. I took it and wired the two together with a relay switch and now I never have a problem with waiting on the compressor. That was a really good deal for me.
 

Latest posts

Sponsors

Top