Power Gravers

R.Runyan

Hello all,

Question, Are the power gravers worth the money? I've been engraving for 24 years and have never used one. I noticed some of the threads mention power gravers, and I was just wondering how many of you use them, and if they are worth it.
I'm still stuck in the old school and have never upgraded to power tools outside of an old beat up Foredom hand piece. Hell I still create trim punch and plates by hand...lol. Maybe it's time I get with the program and upgrade eh. I don't really use gravers as much as I do punches, chisels and stones. But if I were to get me one of them there power gravers, maybe after 20+ years I could start making some $$$$$$...lol

O-well, sometimes it's not about the money.

Let me hear your thoughts please.

Thanx, Robin

Steve Adams

Elite Cafe Member
Robin,
I have a power engraver, however I still use hammer and chisel, gravers, a foredom and punches of course. The power graver can't take the heavy or wide cuts I can do with a chisel, but it is useful in medium to light duty cuts, and especially fine cuts, not to mention it frees up a hand to move the work instead of stopping and turning. You can also use a high speed rotary with a GRS unit, which in some cases is helpful like the foredom, but would never replace a flex shaft totally. I still use traditional tools 85% of the time.

R.Runyan

Power assisted in general, What would you recommend as far as a power graver?

Thanx, Robin

Last edited:

Peter E

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
If ever "different strokes for different folks" was applicable....it would be here.

Best thing to do if possible would be to try the tools and make your decision based on what YOU feel best using.

If you check the forum you will find some threads discussing each. Probably the most popular "power assisted" tools for engraving are GRS Gravermach/Gravermax and the Lindsay Airgraver.

Good Luck,
Peter

Steve Adams

Elite Cafe Member