DSC00013.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 448
  • DSC00012.jpg
    DSC00012.jpg
    67.5 KB · Views: 476

Dennis Sprague

Elite Cafe Member
Ron
The piddling looks really nice. This looks like a antique makeup case that belonged to my grandmother.
I beleive it came from the New Orleans area. Do you use this mostly on jewelery.I havent seen much of this except on older peices of jewelery coming thru the shop for repair. When done right it's beautiful.Maybe this will get more engravers doing some of this style. Hope so .
Dennis

Mike Cirelli

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Ron you put a new meaning to piddling. Beautiful cutting. What is the gravers of choice used for this work. Looks to me squares, flats and rounds.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
As I mentioned in the Transition Cut Rossi thread, I have been doing a version of it for several years. I had never heard the name "transition cut" and call it my double bevel cut. It is not identical to Ron's or Steichman's style but is essentially the same. The attached pics are of a cheap Spanish .410 I tried it on to see if it would look OK on a double with a close up of a scroll and a buckle with a close up. The third item is some black annodized aluminum stock I tested to see how it would look if cut through the finish on an airweight revolver. I cut all of this with a 90 degree square having a 65 degree face and 15 degree heel using my Gravermeister at 600 strokes per min. I'd be interested to get your feedback. I showed the .410 and the buckle at the Engrave-In and got some positive comments and heard the term "transition cut" for the first time.

Roger Bleile

Attachments

• Bevelcut 1.jpg
    Bevelcut 1.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 319
  • bevelcut2.jpg
    bevelcut2.jpg
    78.9 KB · Views: 307
  • Bevelcut buckle.jpg
    Bevelcut buckle.jpg
    87.8 KB · Views: 302
  • Bevelcut buckle cu.jpg
    Bevelcut buckle cu.jpg
    102.5 KB · Views: 268
  • bevelcut alum.jpg
    bevelcut alum.jpg
    53.5 KB · Views: 279
Last edited: