Help, please: welding/welder advise.

Ray Cover

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
This may be a bit OT but as it pertains to gun work and jig making I'm going to ask.

I am a fair machinist but I have never learned to weld. I have several projects ahead of various sizes that are going to require welding. Rather than outsourcing all this I am considering buying a welder and learning to weld myself.

I am looking into the three in one machines with a 50 amp plasma cutter and 200 amp tig and arc welder in one machine.

I can't afford a Lincoln or Miller right now. Here are the brands I can afford.
UNT
Simadre
Lotos

Do any of you have any advise as to which of those are better quality?

Thanks,

Ray

jerrywh

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
In my opinion you are making a big mistake in buying the cheaper machine. I have a lincoln and it is one of the best investments I ever bought. There is a world of difference. Cheap tools NEVER pay off.

Brian Hochstrat

Elite Cafe Member
I would second that, welders are the same as any other tool, you get what you pay for. TIG welders seem to be a bit more pricey than the MIG, so if you can't swing the investment of the TIG the MIG may be a good alternative for now. For light weight stuff I have a small Lincoln MIG that runs off 110v and runs an argon mix shielding gas, I think it cost around $500. It works pretty good, but if you are wanting to weld heavier material, you need more amperage and that starts getting into bigger dollars.

griff silver

Elite Cafe Member
If your just welding the jigs, your probly fine, but a mig welder is of little use with anything small (machined parts). If thats the project I would look into an econtig welder by miller, you can find them on ebay, If your planning on welding to guns at any point Im afraid your going to need a high frequency machine which mean more dollars.

bjiantonio