Pantograph question

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Ok, the ever-indulgent wife saw the nifty plaque I got from Jim Sackett as my 'Engraving in the Hat'.

One of the things she liked on it was the ever-so-perfect lettering. I explained that Jim is lucky enough to have a pantograph to do the lettering.

So, now she's thinking that I should have one. :)

Since she is so ever-indulgent I need advice from you experienced guys - what's the best bang for the buck and where do I get it?

PepeTools hasn't turned on my account yet (got sucked into them in the thread on rolling mills) but Rio Grande has their machine for a good price. The other common choice seems to be the 'Presidium' (sp?) unit that's $10 cheaper. She's leery of used machines unless we can get them from a known good source - my background is as a programmer and there's an old joke: "How many programmers does it take to change a light bulb? Answer: None - it's a hardware problem." She'd prefer I keep my scar additions to the minimum required.

I have limited space to store and set up so size is also a small consideration but mostly she wants something that will do a good job and be as useful as it can be.

Thanks in advance!

Jim Sackett

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Steve

My New Hermes engraving machine is about 25'x22' and 23 'high. It is designed to set up on a table or bench. Its quite heavy. Not many working parts not much to ware out. Go to Gravograph.com once there type in pantograph.

The Cronite Company has another type for scratching acid resist off plates for etching. It doesn't plow as deep as the Hermes but is good for layout work.

Glad your boss liked the plate.

Jim Sackett

Marcus Hunt

~ Elite 1000 Member ~